When exactly did I decide to use Cloud Computing?

Sun, Clouds n Eagles

I’ve been a using web based mail for quite a few years now. Gmail – it is on the web, the spam filtering is great. And best of all I don’t have to worry about having my PC stolen or hard disk fry as it is all backed up. Now, the rest of my IT life has moved to “the cloud” without me really noticing.

I switched my calendar early just recently to Google Calendar as I really like the ability to manage multiple calendars. This works well for me as I have to manage my kids diaries, and stay across with what the husband is doing. I got tired of their stuff cluttering up my diary. It will be great if our school will use Google Calendar Richmond Rd School is.
With Google Calendar I can book a meeting with somebody and not have it scramble up at their end as they are not on the same platform. This was a real problem when I was at IBM and using Lotus Notes.

How about organizing an event that all the invitees can makes comment and share until it is all sorted? Try using this for the class party – 30 families and their kids. Brilliantly simple. All decided andthen you just attach the Google Map so everybody can find the park. It doesn’t matter that the other people are not using Google Calendar they can still comment and be involved. People like the way the event gets put into their calendar automatically if they accept. I could go on and on as to how great this software is….

Google Reader for my RSS feeds is vital and more important to me now than flicking through the NZ Herald. The clever bloggers are way more interesting than the bulk of the junior reporters who now populate New Zealand news rooms.

Now that I work for myself, there really is no need to buy MS Office. Sure I will use it if it is given to me but I can’t see the point of buying it. As well as my personal stuff, I’ve shifted all of my work email and calendaring to go through Google. With Google’s new browser Chrome it goes like the clappers!

Word and Excel I use them most of the time very simply. Google Docs is great if you are working on a document with the same people but are not in the same company. So much easier to be able to all just update the same document. Sure, there is not the same functionality as Office 2007 but the ability to share is far more useful to me.

I am not an IT evangelist or an early adopter but I am interested that the process I am taking seems to be the same one that others around me – it is just easier and cheaper to move to cloud computing. Facebook to stay in touch with my friends, WordPress for my blog.

LastFM for keeping me up on cool new tunes. Zoho People for recruitment projects, Twitter to entertain me when I am working by myself, YouTube instead of the TV, Flickr for my photos– on and on it goes. In never made a decision to get into Cloud Computing – it just happened. As Malcolm Gladwell would say, Cloud Computing is tipping.

People talk about security and other problems with the Cloud. I am quite happy to go with Google for a few reasons. The products I use are good, reliable and simple. They do the job I require and they do it fine. So bit by bit as more Google products come along I am happy to try them out as well. As far as other products, same thing – they work fine.

Call me gullible and naïve but I think my real threat to my IT security is tipping my cup of tea on the laptop or having it stolen along with the car!

Next time I get a laptop it will be a Asus Eee PC will do just fine.

Comments are closed.